Oxon Hill Charter Chapter

Fort washington, md

American Business Women’s Association

Our mission is to bring together business women of diverse occupations and provide opportunities for them to help themselves and others grow personally and professionally, through leadership, education, networking support, and national recognition.


Connect, learn and grow in the
American Business Women’s Association

Whether you are starting a new business, jump-starting a career, or searching for a job, the American Business Women’s Association is the place to be.  Your membership in ABWA offers you a portfolio of benefits to fuel your personal and professional growth.

Enhance your business acumen in the Apex Campus, our exclusive online learning portal.  Grow your professional network by attending ABWA’s National Women’s Leadership Conference. Stay current on business concepts and topics with your complimentary subscriptions to ABWA’s Women in Business® Magazine and Achieve Newsletters.  And, save thousands of dollars on discounted business products and services!

Make an investment in you – join the leading association for working women and women business owners, the American Business Women’s Association.


Executive Board

Evie Wallace

Dr. Sandra Newsome
Vice President

Dr. Tracey Jackson

Dorothy Ellington

Delores McClain


Delores White

Audit Chair


Marilyn Thorne

Fundraising Chair

Delores McClain

Dinner Dance Chair

Dr. Sandra Newsome

Education Chair

Earsie Lee

Hospitality Chair

Rhonda Scott-Johnson

Prof Dev Chair


Doris Brown
Membership Chair

Delores Frazer

Newsletter  Chair



LaVada Harris

Publicity Chair

Courtney Scott-Edwards

Charlotte Brown

Kathy Jeffery

Diahna Brown

Marcea Anderson

Liz Bunn

Bluette Williams

Mazie Boone


Liala Miller

Elma Scott-Brandon


Ruth Peterson

Flora Gaskin

Janice Watson

Earthel Foster

Cecelia Bowlding

Gabryelle Awkard

Student Member

                                                         Vinneiqua Stevens


Marilyn Thorne – 2019 Woman of the Year

 Oxon Hill Charter Chapter will honor our Woman of the Year on May  18,  2019.   Ticket cost is $50 per person. 

Marilyn is a strong supporter of our Chapter, our community, her church, her sorority (AKA), and runs a successful business that employs many and provides great service to Prince George’s County. Marilyn has selected as her theme, “Phenomenal God, Phenomenal You, Phenomenal Me!”  Her colors are black and white with a touch of pink and green.   

Marilyn has requested that in lieu of personal gifts, donations be made to her alma mater, North Carolina A&T State University.  Enter “Marilyn Thorne Endowment” on the check memo line. We hope that you will honor her request. The endowment fund is a tax deductible 501 (c)(3).




Empowering Women through Educational Scholarships

Today’s scholarship recipients are tomorrow’s leaders.  ABWA members have provided opportunities for women to achieve their personal and professional best by championing educational opportunities through the Stephen Bufton Memorial Educational Fund (SBMEF). Since 1953, SBMEF has awarded almost 18 million dollars in scholarships to more than 17,000 women. To learn more about available scholarships, go to sbmef.org.

Latest News & Blog Posts

Latest News & Blog Posts

6 Things To Consider If You Are In A Workplace Romance

07 Feb 2020

As Valentine’s Day approaches, love is in the air. But, if you are in a relationship with a co-worker or thinking a

The Most Popular Solopreneur Jobs Nationwide for 2020

10 Jan 2020

One of the biggest misconceptions about becoming your own boss is that you have to create a grand business plan in or

Quick Guide to Marketing for Small Business Saturday – November 30

12 Nov 2019

Organizations have many options when it comes to marketing for Small Business Saturday, which occurs on the first Sat

view all